Keynote Speakers | 特邀报告


Prof. Ning Xi (IEEE Fellow)
Chair Professor of Robotics and Automation
Director of Advanced Technologies Institute, The University of Hong Kong

Biography: Professor Ning Xi received D.Sc. degree in Systems Science and Mathematics from Washington University in St. Louis, Missouri, USA in December 1993. Currently he is the Chair Professor of Robotics and Automation in the Department of Industrial and Manufacturing System Engineering, and the Director of Advanced Emerging Technologies Institute of the University of Hong Kong. Before joining the University of Hong Kong, he was a University Distinguished Professor, the John D. Ryder Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering and Director of Robotics and Automation Laboratory at Michigan State University in United States. He also served as the founding head of the Department of Mechanical and Biomedical Engineering at City University of Hong Kong (2011-2013).  Prof. Xi is a fellow of IEEE. He also served as the President of IEEE Nanotechnology Council (2010-2011), a member of Administrative Committee of IEEE Robotics and Automation Society (2013-2015). He has been elected as the President of IEEE Robotics and Automation Society (2018-2019). His research interests include robotics, manufacturing automation, micro/nano manufacturing, nano sensors and devices, and intelligent control and systems.

Prof. Dan Halperin (IEEE Fellow, ACM Fellow)
Tel Aviv University, Israel

Biography: Dan Halperin received his Ph.D. in Computer Science from Tel Aviv University, after which he spent three years at the Computer Science Robotics Laboratory at Stanford University. He then joined the Department of Computer Science at Tel Aviv University, where he is currently a full professor and for two years was the department chair. Halperin’s main field of research is Computational Geometry and Its Applications. Application areas he is interested in include robotics, automated manufacturing, algorithmic motion planning, and 3D printing. A major focus of Halperin’s work has been in research and development of robust geometric software, in collaboration with a group of European universities and research institutes: the CGAL project and library. Halperin was the program-committee chair/co-chair of several conferences in computational geometry, algorithms and robotics, including SoCG, WAFR, ESA, and ALENEX. Halperin is an ACM Fellow and an IEEE Fellow. Halperin's home page:

Prof. Guilin Yang
Ningbo Institute of Materials Technology and Engineering
Chinese Academy of Sciences, Ningbo, China

Biography: Guilin YANG is currently a professor, a PhD supervisor, and the deputy president of Ningbo Institute of Materials Technology and Engineering, Chinese Academy of Sciences. He received his B. Eng degree and M. Eng degree from Jilin University in 1985 and 1988 respectively, and Ph.D. degree from Nanyang Technological University in 1999, all in Mechanical Engineering. From 1998 to 2013, he was with the Singapore Institute of Manufacturing Technology, Singapore, as a scientist, a senior scientist, and then the manager of the Mechatronics Group. He has long been engaged in the research areas of precision mechatronics, industrial robotics, and manufacturing automation. He has been the principal investigators for a number of major research projects in precision actuators, modular robots, parallel robots, cable-driven robots, and industrial robot applications. He has published over 300 technical papers in referred journals and conferences, authored two books, and filed 100 more patents. He received the R&D 100 Award in 2014 and the golden award of “Good Design” of China in 2020. He has also served as associate editors and guest editors for a number of scientific journals.

Prof. Yan Shi
Beihang University, China

Biography: Yan Shi is a professor in the School of Automation Science and Electrical Engineering, Beihang University, Beijing, China. He received his doctoral degree in mechanical engineering from Beihang University. His research interests include mechanical and electronic engineering, automatic control, fluid transmission and control intelligent medical devices, energy-saving technologies of pneumatic systems and pneumatic components design and processing key technologies. He has undertaken more than 20 national projects in recent years, and he was awarded an IET fellow in 2022. He has published more than 100 SCI papers, and has granted more than 20 national invention patents. He has won the second prize of the “National Science and Technology Progress Award” (rank 2), and two first prize for the Science and Technology Progress Award of national-level societies (rank 1). He has been selected as the Chief Scientist of the Key Basic Research Program (173 Program) of the JCJQ Program, the Project Leader of the National Key Research and Development Program, the Young Talent of the "Ten Thousand People Program".